Social Worker CEs California - Requirements
We can help you with your Social Worker CEs for California. We've listed some of the most common questions and answers below.
How many CEs does California require?
36 hours every 2 years
Can I take my CEs from Ce4Less?
36 hours allowed (no limit for preliscensure courses)
What else do I need to know?
All 36 hours can be homestudy because the post-test is submitted electronically.
California (CA BBS) Mandatory Continuing Education
Spousal or Partner
All licensees are required to complete a seven-hour one-time course in
spousal/partner abuse assessment, detection, and intervention strategies Spousal or Partner Abuse including
community resources, cultural factors, and same gender abuse dynamics. This is a one time requirement.
The course which meets the CA Spousal or Partner abuse requirements is:
Spousal or Partner
All licensees are required to complete at least six hours of CE in the area of
Law and Ethics as a condition of each renewal. The six hours shall be considered part of the 36 hour CE
requirement. Law and ethics must be taken for each license renewal.
Course which meets the CE
requirements for the CA Law and Ethics:
California Law and
Professional Ethics (6 hours)
Aging and Long Term Care
licensees are required to complete a three-hour continuing education course in aging and long- term care. The
course could include, but is not limited to, the biological, social, and psychological aspects of aging. This is
a one time requirement.
Course which meets the CE requirements for CA Aging and Long Term
Aging and Long
All licensees are
required to complete a course at least seven hours in length and cover the characteristics and method of
assessment and treatment of people who live with HIV/AIDS. This is a one time requirement.
which meets the CA HIV/AIDS ceu requirement:
HIV/AIDS: A Comprehensive
Review (No Book to Buy)
Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention
6 hours suicide risk assessment and intervention. This course
must be taken before your first renewal after January 1, 2021. This course meets the requirement:
Suicide Assessment Treatment
and Management - Revised
provide supervision to Marriage and Family Therapists (MFT) Interns and Trainees...
must complete a 6-hour supervision training within the two-year period immediately preceding supervision and
every renewal period when supervising, NOTE: If the supervisor has never taken this course, it must be taken
within 60 days of commencement of supervision
This 6 hour No Book to Buy course meets the CA BBS
requirements to supervise MFT Interns and Trainees:
Supervision: A Guide for
Mental Health Professionals
To provide supervision to Associate Clinical Social Workers
You must complete a minimum of 15 contact hours in supervision training prior to
commencement of supervision. Once completed, you do not need to complete it again before supervising future
Click here for a list of our